You are currently viewing Cricket 1st T20I: Green Shirts beat South Africa by 4 wickets

Cricket 1st T20I: Green Shirts beat South Africa by 4 wickets

JOHANNESBURG: The Green Shirts, that were chasing a target of 189 runs, beat South Africa by 4 wickets in the first T20 International match played today (10th of April) here at the Wanderers Stadium. 

Earlier, South Africa opted to bat first after winning the toss. South African opener Aiden Markram scored 51 runs off 32 balls. Skipper Heinrich Klaasen scored half a century facing 28 balls. In the last four overs after South Africa had been well-placed at 159 for three after 16 overs.

Heinrich Klaasen  was captaining South Africa in the absence of the injured Temba Bavuma, while Aiden Markram was a late inclusion in a side hit by a spate of injuries. The South African team was also sans five players whose contracts with their Indian Premier League (IPL)  teams took precedence. South Africa named three new caps in all-rounder Wihan Lubbe and fast bowlers Sisanda Magala and Lizaad Williams.

Left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz took two for 21, bowling three of his four overs in the opening power play, while fast bowler Hasan Ali took two for 28. It is pertinent to mention here that Pakistan had included two players, Haider Ali and veteran Mohammad Hafeez, who were not part of their winning one-day international team in a series which ended on Wednesday (7th of April).

From Pakistan side, as mentioned earlier, Mohammad Nawaz and Hasan Ali sent two batsmen each back to pavilion, whereas, Shaheen Afridi and Haris Rauf took one wicket each. Man of the match Mohammad Rizwan scored 74-runs enabling the Green Shirts chase the target down. Skipper Babar Azam scored 14 off 14 deliveries.


South Africa:
J. Malan lbw b Nawaz 24
A. Markram c Rizwan b Nawaz 51
W. Lubbe c Shaheen Afridi b Hasan 4
H. Klaasen c Fakhar b Hasan 50
P. van Biljon c Nawaz b Shaheen Afridi 34
G. Linde lbw b Haris 6
A. Phehlukwayo not out 9
S. Magala not out 9
Extras (lb1) 1
Total (6 wkts, 20 overs) 188
Did not bat: B. Hendricks, L. Williams, T. Shamsi
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Malan), 2-36 (Lubbe), 3-98 (Markram), 4-159 (Klaasen), 5-168 (Van Biljon), 6-171 (Linde)
Bowling: Shaheen Shah Afridi 4-0-45-1, Mohammad Nawaz 4-0-21-2, Hasan Ali 4-0-28-2, Usman Qadir 3-0-38-0, Haris Rauf 3-0-37-1, Faheem Ashraf 2-0-18-0

Mohammad Rizwan not out 74
Babar Azam c Williams b Hendricks 14
Fakhar Zaman c Malan b Shamsi 27
Mohammad Hafeez st Klaasen b Shamsi 13
Haider Ali lbw b Hendricks 14
Mohammad Nawaz c Klaasen b Hendricks 0
Faheem Ashraf b Williams 30
Hasan Ali not out 9
Extras (lb2, nb1, w5) 8
Total (6 wkts, 19.5 overs) 189
Did not bat: Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf
Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Babar), 2-86 (Fakhar), 3-110 (Hafeez), 4-132 (Haider), 5-132 (Nawaz), 6-180 (Faheem)
Bowling: Linde 3-0-31-0, Williams 3.5-0-39-1, Hendricks 4-0-32-3 (1w), Magala 3-0-35-0 (1nb, 2w), Shamsi 4-0-29-2, Phehlukwayo 2-0-21-0 (2w)

Result: Pakistan won by four wickets
Series: Pakistan lead the four-match series 1-0
Toss: South Africa

Remaining matches:
April 12, Johannesburg
April 14, Centurion
April 16, Centurion

South Africa: Heinrich Klaasen (skipper, wkt), Aiden Markram, Janneman Malan, Pite van Biljon, Wihan Lubbe, George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, Sisanda Magala, Beuran Hendricks, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (skipper), Mohammad Rizwan (wkt), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf.

Umpires: Adrian Holdstock, Allahudien Paleker (both RSA).

Television umpire: Bongani Jele (RSA).

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM). | YouTube Channel

Sana Mehmood

Sana Mahmood studied Business and Finance from Karachi and writes on a number of subjects particularly activities in Bourse etc.