You are currently viewing Cricket T20I: BD team arrives in Pakistan

Cricket T20I: BD team arrives in Pakistan

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Cricket / Featured
  • Post last modified:24/01/2020
  • Reading time:4 mins read

LAHORE: A 15-member Bangladesh Cricket team has arrived here today to play a three-match T20I series against the Green Shirts. 

The visiting team was transported to their hotel from Airport amid hermetically sealed security.

Bangladeshi team that will hold a practice session at the Gaddafi Stadium here today will play  first T20I at the same ground tomorrow (Friday, 24th of January, 2020). 

Relevant pieces published earlier: 

Cricket T20I : Madugalle named referee by BD

20th of January, 2020

DHAKA: Bangladesh’s governing body of the game has named sixty-year-old Ranjan Madugalle, (who has so far refereed in 102 T20Is), for the upcoming T20I series between Pakistan and Bangladesh to be played at the Gaddafi Stadium on 24, 25 and 27 January (2020).

Interestingly, 27-years ago in December 1993, he had  made his international refereeing debut in the Pakistan versus Zimbabwe Test. In January, 2006 he came to Pakistan for refereeing the three-Test series against India.

PCB has appointed Ahsan Raza and Shozab Raza as the on-field umpires, Ahmed Shahab as third umpire and Tariq Rasheed as fourth umpire for the three matches.

Cricket: Green Shirts’ squad for BD T20I

17th of January, 2020

ISLAMABAD: PCB has announced T20 squad for the upcoming Bangladesh series scheduled to commence from 24th of January.

Cricket 1The 15-man squad, which was announced by Pakistan head coach-cum-chief selector Misbahul Haq and Babar on Thursday (16th of Januray, 2020) include Shoaib Malik, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez,  Babar Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Muhammad Hasnain, Muhammad Rizwan, Moosa Khan, Shahdab Khan, Usman Javed and three youngsters Ahsan Ali, Amad Butt and Haris Rauf. While former skipper has been excluded, Babar Azam will be the team captain.

Commenting on his choice of players the chief selector held: ““We have lost eight of our last nine T20Is and as the number-one ranked side, this is unacceptable. We need to end our losing cycle and get back to winning habits leading into the upcoming Asia Cup and ICC T20 World Cup. This has played a critical role in our decision-making.

“Hafeez and Shoaib bring a total of 200 T20Is between them and if you mix these with the other youngsters we have in the side, then I think it becomes a good blend of experience and youth.”

Those who were not selected include: Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Irfan and Wahab Riaz. It may be noted that Asif, Fakhar, Haris, Amir and Wahab were also in the squad  that lost 3-0 to Sri Lanka at home in October.

Cricket 2Babar, while commenting on the recalling of veteran all-rounders Shoaib Malik and Muhammad Hafeez in the 15-man squad for the 3 ODIs, stated: Cricket 3“I am happy with the selected squad and want to thank the selection committee for entertaining my request for Hafeez and Malik. I believe they still have plenty to offer to Pakistan cricket in the shortest format and their experience can be critical to our performances in the upcoming series.”

The second T20I will be played on 25th day of January and the last match will be played on 27th of January, 2020.


Syed Aun

Syed Aun studied Media before starting to contribute to writing mostly on sports and local (Pakistani) politics.