You are currently viewing ECP to name Punjab, Balochistan CMs!

ECP to name Punjab, Balochistan CMs!

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Pakistan
  • Post last modified:06/06/2018
  • Reading time:3 mins read

ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) will nominate the chief ministers (CMs) of Punjab and Balochistan as the parliamentary committees of both the assemblies have failed to reach a consensus.

The Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza has convened the ECP consultative meeting here today to make consultation on the four proposed names for CM Punjab, which were referred by Speaker Punjab Assembly to the ECP that included Prof Hassan Askari Rizvi and Ayaz Ameer from former opposition and Admiral (retd) Muhammad Zakaullah and Justice (retd) Muhammad Sahir Ali from former provincial government.

The matter of nominating caretaker CM Punjab has been referred to the ECP after the failure of the parliamentary committee that met today to reach consensus over the proposed candidates, rather both former government and opposition levelled charges on each other in failing to reach consensus by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

PTI had proposed the names of news analyst Ayaz Ameer and Defence analyst Dr. Hassan Askari Rizvi for the post of caretaker CM while the PML-N had nominated Admiral Muhammad Zakaullah and Justice (retd) Muhammad Sahir Ali. Similarly, in Balochistan, the former provincial government had suggested the names of Sardar Shoukat Popalzai and Alauddin Marri for the post of the caretaker chief minister while the former opposition had nominated Mohammad Aslam Bhutani and Ashraf Jahangir Qazi.

After the failure of former government and opposition leaders, the parliamentary committee of Balochistan also failed to reach on one name for caretaker CM for Balochistan. Under the legal condition, after failure in reaching a consensus of former CMs and leaders of opposition in Balochistan and Punjab and also a failure of parliamentary committees of both provinces, now the ECP will decide the names of caretaker CMs of both the provinces.

After expiry of tenure of both provincial assemblies on 31st of May, the former CMs and Opposition leaders had timeframe up to June 3 to make consensus on one name for caretaker CM. Later the parliamentary committee had timeframe up to June 6 to finalize one name and then the ECP will have timeframe from June 7 (Thursday) to June 8 to decide the name of caretaker CMs.


M. Nasir Uddin commenced his career 25 years ago as sub-editor with PPI News Agency. For the last 20 years he remained associated with leading Urdu daily Express brought out from over ten different stations simultaneously. He reports religious parties, national politics and local bodies etc.