You are currently viewing Election 2018: Polling continues tranquilly in Hyderabad!
election 2018

Election 2018: Polling continues tranquilly in Hyderabad!

HYDERABAD: The polling for election on three national and six provincial assembly seats continued in a peaceful atmosphere in all 850 polling stations of Hyderabad district today.
The polling started in almost all 2287 polling booths of 850 polling stations on the scheduled time of 8 a.m. where the polling officials are facilitating 1,035,857 male and female voters to exercise their right of franchise for elections of favorite candidates.
A team of media persons visited various polling stations of Hyderabad City, Latifabad and Qasimabad talukas of the district where they witnessed low turnout at the polling booths.
Even at the polling stations of thickly populated localities of Hyderabad City, Latifabad, and Qasimabad including Latifabad Units-9, 11 and 12 as well as Pacca Qilla, Phuleli, Gau Shala, Sakhi Pir, Tilak Incline, Gulistan Sajjad, Bhitai Nagar, Naseem Nagar and Qasimabad where heavy turnout had witnessed.
Besides Pakistan Army and Rangers, over five thousand Policemen have been deployed at the polling stations to ensure the security of voters and polling staff during the course of polling and counting of polled votes.

A relevant piece published earlier: Polling for General Election-2018 progresses smoothly across the country amid tight security arrangements to elect 270 members of the National Assembly and 570 members of all the four provincial assemblies for the next five-year term (2018-2023).
Queues outside the polling stations are surging gradually with the passage of time where enthusiastic voters including senior citizens, male and female are standing firmly to fulfill their national obligation by casting vote in favor of their candidates.
As many as 53,000 international, national and local observers and media persons are witnessing the whole election process.
Chief Observer of European Union Election Observation Mission Michael Gahler visited various polling stations in the capital and said his team was closely monitoring the electoral process.
“We will give an overall preliminary statement on Friday because we are not only monitoring the Election Day but the entire process,” the EU chief observer told media during his visit to a polling station here in the NA-130 constituency.
Gahler said the EU Election Observation Mission’s team checked ballot papers before the start of polling at 8 a.m. and found the ballot boxes properly sealed. He said the enthusiasm of voters thronging the polling stations was noticeable.
Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Mian Saqib Nisar cast his vote in NA-130 constituency Lahore. Caretaker Minister for Information and Broadcasting, Barrister Ali Zafar cast his vote at a polling station in Johar Town Lahore. Talking to reporters he said the speculations about the timely conduct of general elections 2018 had died down as the nation went to the polls in a free manner.
Political leaders from different parties began casting their votes as Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president Shehbaz Sharif cast his vote in Model Town, Lahore while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Asad Umar cast his vote in NA-54 constituency of Islamabad. 
Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Imran Khan cast his vote at Dhok Jilani, Islamabad. Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam’s (JUI-F) Maulana Fazl-Ur-Rehman cast his vote in NA-238 Dera Ismail Khan while former National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq cast his vote in Garhi Shahu, Lahore. 
Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Syed Khursheed Shah cast his vote in Sukkur’s NA-207 constituency, Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) founder Mustafa Kamal cast his vote in Karachi’s NA-243 while Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) leader Dr. Farooq Sattar also cast his vote.
Yasmeen Rashid, a prominent leader of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, cast her vote in Lahore. Around 105.95 million eligible voters including 59.22 million male and 46.73 million female are scheduled to exercise their right to vote to mark another democratic transition from one elected government to another.
About 1,1673 candidates are vying for 270 national and 570 provincial assemblies’ seats. Election Commission of Pakistan has established 85,058 polling stations, out of which around 17,000 have been declared as sensitive across the country. In order to hold the election in a peaceful manner and provide a level playing field to all the stakeholders, around 7,70,000 security personnel including army-men and police personnel are performing duty in and outside the polling stations. 
The ECP has appointed 2720 district returning officers and returning officers and assistant returning officers to conduct the proceeding of the elections in a free and fair manner. The 10-hour polling that started at 8:00 am will continue without any break till 6 pm.

M M Alam

M. M. Alam is a Pakistan-based working journalist since 1981. Karachi University faculty gold medalist Alam began his career four decades ago by writing for Dawn, Pakistan’s highest circulating English daily. He has worked for region’s leading publications, global aviation periodicals including Rotors (of USA) and vetted New York Times as permanent employee of daily Express Tribune. Alam regularly covers international aviation and defense-related events including Salon Du Bourget (France), Farnborough (United Kingdom), Dubai (UAE). Alam has reported thousands of events and interviewed hundreds of people in Pakistan, UAE, EU, UK and USA. Being Francophone Alam also coordinates with a number of French publications.