You are currently viewing FIFA WC 2022: Argentina, Croatia, France, Morocco in the Semis
Football World Cup 2022

FIFA WC 2022: Argentina, Croatia, France, Morocco in the Semis

DOHA: Argentina, France, Morocco and Croatia qualified for the Semis of the FIFA World Cup.

Argentina will take on Croatia at Lusail Iconic Stadium on Wednesday (14th of December, 2022) while France will face Morocco at Al Bayt Stadium (Al Khor) on Thursday (15th of December, 2022).

So far the country to win the most FIFA WC Championship is Brazil. It had won the FIFA World Cup five times: In 1958 beating Sweden (Pele scored a goal); 1962 playing against Czechoslovakia; 1970 beating Italy 4-1 (again Pele scored a goal); 1994 Brazil overshadow Italy on penalties; 2002 beating Germany in Japan with the help of Ronaldo’s 2 goals.

France is the Defending Champion:

FIFA World Cup Winners/Runner-ups since 1930:

YearWinnerRunner-upThird place
1930UruguayArgentinaUnited States
1934Italy CzechoslovakiaGermany
1954West GermanyHungaryAustria
1966EnglandWest GermanyPortugal
1970BrazilItalyWest Germany
1974West GermanyNetherlandsPoland
1982ItalyWest GermanyPoland
1986ArgentinaWest GermanyFrance
1990West GermanyArgentinaItaly

M M Alam

M. M. Alam is a Pakistan-based working journalist since 1981. Karachi University faculty gold medalist Alam began his career four decades ago by writing for Dawn, Pakistan’s highest circulating English daily. He has worked for region’s leading publications, global aviation periodicals including Rotors (of USA) and vetted New York Times as permanent employee of daily Express Tribune. Alam regularly covers international aviation and defense-related events including Salon Du Bourget (France), Farnborough (United Kingdom), Dubai (UAE). Alam has reported thousands of events and interviewed hundreds of people in Pakistan, UAE, EU, UK and USA. Being Francophone Alam also coordinates with a number of French publications.