You are currently viewing Pakistan to face Australia in T20 World Cup opener
Pakistan to face Australia in T20 World Cup opener

Pakistan to face Australia in T20 World Cup opener

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Cricket / Sports
  • Post last modified:30/01/2019
  • Reading time:3 mins read

SYDNEY: Hosts Australia will take on Pakistan’s men and India’s women for the opening fixtures of the Twenty20 World Cups in 2020, organisers said on Tuesday as the draw for the tournaments was announced.

The T20 World Cups are being held in the same year and in the same country for the first time, with the men’s and women’s finals to be played at one of the world’s biggest stadiums, the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Ten women’s teams will play in 23 matches from Feb 21 to March 8, with reigning champions Australia to clash with India in the opening game in Sydney.

The men’s competition, from Oct 18 to Nov 15, will feature several qualifying matches before Australia kicks off the Super 12 group stages on Oct 24 against top-ranked Pakistan at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Australia, Pakistan, the West Indies, New Zealand and two qualifiers make up one side of the draw, with defending champions West Indies starting their title defence against the Black Caps on Oct 25.

India, England, South Africa and Afghanistan and two qualifiers make up the other side of the draw.

For the women’s fixtures, four-time winners Australia are in Group ‘A’ with New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka and one qualifier, while West Indies and 2009 champions England join South Africa, Pakistan and a second qualifying team.

The women’s final will be played on March 8 to coincide with International Women’s Day, and the men’s final will be held on Nov 15.

Women’s group stages (Feb 21 – March 3)

Group ‘A’: Australia, New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka, Qualifier 1

Group ‘B’: England, West Indies, South Africa, Pakistan, Qualifier 2

Semi-finals: March 5

Final: March 8

Men’s qualifiers: Oct 18 – 23

Group stages (Oct 24 – Nov 8)

Group 1: Pakistan, Australia, West Indies, New Zealand, two qualifiers

Group 2: India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, two qualifiers

Semi-finals: Nov 11 and 12

Final: Nov 15.

Syed Aun

Syed Aun studied Media before starting to contribute to writing mostly on sports and local (Pakistani) politics.