You are currently viewing Qalandars is the new PSL Champ

Qalandars is the new PSL Champ

LAHORE: Lahore Qalandars, spearheaded by Shaheen Shah Afridi, has beaten defending champion Multan Sultans by 42 runs in the the PSL 7 final to lift the trophy here on Sunday (27th of February, 2022). 

PSL Shaheen Shah Afridi

After winning the toss Lahore Qalandars chose to bat and scored 180 runs in 20 overs. As the Multan Sultans chased the target of 181, Shaheen Shah Afridi took scalps of three Sultans, Mohammad Hafeez and Zaman Khan sent two back to pavilion while further two were bowled by Haris Rauf and David Wiese.

Mohammad Rizwan was adjudged the Player of HBL PSL 7 for scoring 546 runs. He was also awarded the prize for being the Wicketkeeper of PSL 7 for sending 9 batters back to pavilion.

Fakhar Zaman of Lahore Qalandars was declared the Best Batter of PSL 7 for scoring 588 runs. Shadab Khan of Islamabad United bagged the Best Bowler Award for taking 19 wickets.

Multan Sultans’ Khushdil Shah was adjudged the best All-Rounder of PSL 7. He scored 182 runs, took 16 wickets and

For dismissing 18 batters in the PSL 7 matches Qalandars’ Zaman Khan was named as the Emerging Cricketer of HBL PSL 2022. Rashid Riaz bagged the Umpire of HBL PSB award.


Lahore Qalandars: 180/05 ( 20.0 OVERS)
Multan Sultans:      138/10 ( 19.3 OVERS)


Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (Skipper/Wicketkeeper), Shan Masood, Aamer Azmat, Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Khushdil Shah, David Willey, Asif Afridi, Rumman Raees, Imran Tahir, Shahnawaz Dahani.

Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Kamran Ghulam Mohammad Hafeez, Zeeshan Ashraf (Wicketkeeper), Harry Brook, David Wiese, Samit Patel, Shaheen Shah Afridi (Skipper), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan.


PS: Although the venue was hermetically-sealed to ensure security during PSL-7 at Gaddafi Stadium here, due to massive rush of aficionados eager to watch the PSL 7’s Final, metal detectors were damaged. | YouTube Channel


Sana Mehmood

Sana Mahmood studied Business and Finance from Karachi and writes on a number of subjects particularly activities in Bourse etc.